BRAG!

The #kinderchat13 challenge this week was just that!  A challenge!  After thinking it over all week and realizing that tomorrow a new challenge word will be tweeted, I decided to just go for it and brag a bit about my two families: my kindergarten family and my family-family.

Yesterday, my kindergarten team (There are six of us.) and their kids (Add on eight more.) came over to enjoy some sunshine and pool time. We are a unique bunch of colleagues who enjoy spending time together outside of school. Yes! We are more than colleagues. We are all good friends. My friend Becky was at a PLC conference and texting me one evening. Her roommate, who happened is a teacher in the same district commented, “Wow! You text your team? My team would never do that!” That’s just the way we roll in kindergarten. We learn from each other, support one another, and bring out the best in each other. I believe we display these qualities daily with our students and it creates an amazing atmosphere for learning.

On August 5th I will be celebrating my 25th wedding anniversary and I’d like to brag about that. My husband Jeff and I were high school sweethearts, so it actually is more like our 34th anniversary! We’ve been best friends forever and are just like my school family. We learn from each other, support one another, and bring out the best in each other. I believe we display these qualities for our two children, creating a happy, healthy environment for them to reach their fullest potential.

image

Well, there!  I did it!  I can brag all day long about my students and my kids, but seldom take time to brag about the adults in my life.  Thank you Jeff, Becky, Trina, Beth, Alyssa, and Kelli for giving me lots to brag about.

Leave a Reply

