Five Little Pumpkins

Five little pumpkins sitting on a gate.
The first one said, “Oh my! It’s getting late!”
The second one said, “There’s a chill in the air.”
The third one said, “But we don’t care.”
The fourth one said, “Let’s run and run and run!”
The fifth one said, “Get ready for some Kindergarten fun!”

It all started with a seed and a pile of dirt. Well actually, it started last year with a book called, Pumpkin Jack by Will Hubbell.

I discovered this delightful book thanks to my friend and next door teacher, Mrs. Ott. We are actually connected through a short hallway between our classrooms where the boys and girls bathrooms are located. (Yes! I do know how lucky I am to have bathrooms so handy.) That hallway is our lifeline for sharing (or shouting) ideas and discoveries that occur throughout each day. It’s common for us to send a messenger to “come and see what we just did” our line up the class with one simple command to meet at the door to Mrs. Ott’s and go share a story, song, or simply to show off our learning.

Let’s get back to the story of Pumpkin Jack…

The first pumpkin Tim ever carved was fierce and funny, and he named it Jack. When Halloween was over and the pumpkin was beginning to rot, Tim set it out in the garden and throughout the weeks he watched it change.

In the course of one year, a jack-o-lantern, discarded after Halloween, decomposes in the backyard and eventually grows new pumpkins from its seeds.

We decided to try it with our class pumpkin, however, we named ours Pumpkin Pat because we were learning about the -at word family. Throughout the course of the school year we watched Pat get moldy, shrivel and change. Other students and teachers would stop by to observe Pat’s transformation as well. I promised the class I would take Pat home and set him in my garden and I’ve had my eye on him all summer long (along with a few other seeds I planted (just in case). My family isn’t quite as excited about my weekly pumpkin report, but that’s okay. They are used to my kindergarten eyes seeing things from a five year old perspective.

I didn’t know I’d enter the world of blogging when this all began, but I can already see the possibilities for blogging about this year’s class pumpkin through our class blog. I can’t wait to weigh, measure, count seeds, carve, read, write, draw and blog about our five little pumpkins.

Ever since that “chill in the air” arrived it’s not uncommon for me to get out of bed thinking about school. Öh my! It getting late.” (It’s 2:38 a.m.) “But I don’t care.” I wanted to get this picture and post off before I “run and run and run” to my classroom tomorrow morning and get busy for “some Kindergarten fun.”

a href=”https://jpnault.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/image.jpg”>Five Little Pumpkins a

Leave a Reply

