January Post-A-Day: Day 7

#Kinderchat January Blog Challenge

Before the end of the school year, I want to _____ with my class.

That’s a no-brainer for me.  I jumped into blogging for myself and my students with both feet and am learning along the way.  Thanks @sharondavison.  Unfortunately, trying to manage two different blogs (personal and professional for the classroom), I am feeling overwhelmed.  I don’t have the technology skills I wish I had, but I’m trying and learning through mistakes.  Add in a personal and professional Twitter account and it feels a bit like technology may be taking over my life.  It’s all very exciting!  And scary!!!

That said, my fill in the blank would go like this…Before the end of the school year, I want to release more independence to my students for maintaining our class blog and their individual blogs. 

There, I said it!  I’m one who wants to know how to do something well before I put myself out there and blogging has gone against that right from the start.  I’ve been very brave this year!  Now I need to step it up and allow my students to learn with less control from me.  How will I do this?  I have already put out a call for parent volunteers on computer days.  I’ve got my fingers crossed that on January 14th I will be notified that my grant proposal was accepted and get an iPad (or six)  for my classroom.   And as the level of independence continues to grow in the classroom, I should (key word being should) be able to work with small groups and individuals more consistently.

I have to say it again.  Before the end of the school year, I want to release more independence to my students for maintaining our class blog and the individual blogs.  If I may add to my wish list of things to accomplish, I’d definitely have to add #geniushour.  I need to learn more about that and make it happen for my students.  I’m following and inspired by  @dubiouseducator and very curious what it’s all about.  Thanks Faige!

If anyone out there has any tips for using Kidblog  and Genuis Hour with Kindergartners, feel free to leave a comment.  I’d love to connect with you and learn from you.

2 thoughts on “January Post-A-Day: Day 7

  1. Amazed at all that you’re doing. Haven’t come around to blogging with my Kinders yet. Will have to see how it goes for you. Thanks for the @dubioseducator mention.

    • Thanks Faige,
      I am always willing to try new things and hopefully lead by example for others. I’m not afraid to make mistakes and learn from them. Having great connections through technology sure helps. If you want, check out our kid blogs I can DM you our guest password. http://Www.kidblog.org/mrsnaultskindergarten. I have become a fan because it has opened up a way of sharing with parents I was reluctant to try. I encourage you to consider it.
      Patty

Leave a Reply

