January Post-A-Day Challenge: Day 9

Share your before school morning routine.

Mornings at our house are a mix between military precision and synchronized swimming.  The three of us each have our own routine and know  how to coordinate our efforts to avoid any mishaps. Morning mishaps are never good!  I’m the military precision in the group and the other two, well, they do just fine swimming along between Sports Center highlights.  In other words, my husband and son know enough to stay out of my way and on schedule most  mornings.  Here’s the thing.  The minute my feet hit the floor, it’s game on and the day is a checklist of things to get done.  I’m trying to get better at that.  Really!  I’m trying!

Best advice: Do not interfere with any of us while we are on a mission to get out the door on time. We all know and understand our roles and everyone is happy.  Well, I’m happy and that’s really all that matters.  Right?

5:00 a.m. – Alarm and Shower while Husband watches Sports Center and checks the weather.

5:20 a.m. – Coffee in my green mug.  Don’t even think about using my green mug unless of course it’s Christmas and I like my red mug.

5:45 a.m. – Make bed and get dressed.  Please don’t let me choose an outfit that requires ironing!

5:30 a.m. – Pack cold lunches.

6:00 a.m. – Dry hair and put on make up.

6:15 a.m. – Wake up son

6:20 a.m. – Make Smoothies and breakfast.  Waffles for son, peanut butter toast for husband, half grapefruit or oatmeal for me.

Smoothie ingredients: Naked green juice, Greek yogurt, spinach, kale, banana, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, protein powder, and flax seed.

6:50 a.m. – Kennel the dogs.

7:00 a.m. – Out the door!

The ride to work is quite pleasant because I get to ride with my husband.  We carpool whenever possible and solve all the world’s problems along the way. He drops me off and picks me up most days and I have to admit, I like the curbside service (and the warm car). It’s also pretty nice when I have tons of stuff to carry.  You know, more than the usual three bags – purse, lunch, school stuff.  I blame Thirty-one for my bag obsession.  They’re too cute to have just one.

Leave a Reply

