Cookie Fortune

Slice of Life Writing Challenge – March 25, 2021

“I can tell you’re walking. You sound out of breath,” I noticed. “It must not be raining there like it is here.”

“Yeah,” she went on to explain, “I just walked past some Girl Scouts selling cookies, but I didn’t have any money with me, so I went home and I’m walking back there now. I’m trying to hurry. I’m craving Thin Mints.”

“It’s that time of year,” I agreed. “Grab an extra box for me please and I’ll pay you back when you come home for Easter.” I feel grateful just being able to say it now that five of the six family members have been vaccinated and we can look forward to gathering safely for a holiday meal.

Our phone conversation continued along for a few more minutes at a pace to match her own, rapidly touching base on how her week was going until…

“Oh no! They’re gone!” she cried out. The sweet taste of mint, with a delicious chocolaty coating, disappeared from our thoughts as fast as the two girls selling cookies. I could hear the disappointment in her voice. It wasn’t so much the cookie, but the thought of a rare treat available only during Girl Scout cookie season. A little round delicacy you don’t get often, to help push through that last long week of virtual teaching before spring break. I consoled her through the misfortune and ended the call.

I had forgotten completely about our conversation until the door bell rang today. There stood two Girls Scouts eager to explain how they were selling cookies drive through style with a virtual cookie booth. All I had to do was scan the QR code on the flyer they handed me from a safe distance, select and pay for my cookies online, and pick them up at a location just one block from my house on April 3rd. Seemed simple enough.

“This is so crazy!” I said and mentioned what had happened to my daughter the day before. “Now I can surprise her and get the Thin Mints she craves.” I thanked them for stopping and wished them good luck with their sales.

As the older of the two girls walked away from our porch, I couldn’t help but notice that her entire Girl Scout vest was nearly covered with earned patches. She’s a go-getter I thought to myself. She’s also a terrific role model for the younger scout tagging along. She reminded me of a particular former student who always came up with unique and creative sales pitches during cookie selling time. I bought cookies from her for many years because I admired her drive and ambition. As a result, I have come to enjoy Thin Mints like my daughter, although my favorite is the discontinued fudge dipped shortbread Thank You cookies. I was disappointed to see they were not available on the flyer, however it didn’t deter me from scanning the QR code.

A confirmation email arrived. Your Girl Scout Cookie request has been received. I know where I’ll be on April 3rd, just in time before my daughter arrives home on April 4th.

Published by Patty Nault

Retired elementary teacher with a passion for reading, writing, and living a life full of curiosity. "Always be on the lookout for the presence of wonder." -E.B. White

One thought on “Cookie Fortune

Leave a comment

Lisa Bongean ~

A WordPress Full-Site Editor Theme

Soapbox: The Way I see Things

shouting my heart out for all who may listen

tendingbulbs

Reflecting on teaching

Read. Reflect. Teach.

Thoughtful reflections on my journey as a teacher leader

Teacher Captain's (B)log

Navigating Life as a Teacher and a Writer

WORDSNOW HEART

It is all about words. Your words are enough to shatter someone's heart. Your words are enough to make a broken heart unbroken. Words have the power to change your life perspectives.

Susan Apps-Bodilly, Schoolhouse Stories

Educator. Reader. Writer. Gardener. Old Recipe Collector. Outside Adventurer.

Books on the Back Porch

Take a peek inside the different chapters of my life!

Teachers Matter

The future of education is, and always will be, TEACHERS!

Kindness Blog

Kindness Changes Everything

The Curious Kindergarten

Welcome to The Curious Kindergarten, a blog about the discoveries my students and I make in our full-day kindergarten! A bit about me: I have been teaching Kindergarten for several years and have recently started implementing some philosophies from Reggio Emilia into my classroom. Our learning journey is a work in progress, and I hope visitors view it as just that: an opportunity to reflect and grow each day. Thanks for stopping by!

The road traveled

education and related fields

Nutrition.Health.Life.

Realistic Nutrition. Holistic Health. Full Life.

Tough Bananas

Searching for answers to life's hard questions. Like, "what's that smell?"

Reading With Rhythm

book reviews from Rhythm the Library Dog

Catching Readers Before They Fall

Literacy, Learning, Thoughts & Wonderings